Piece de Resistance

Good morning!

It’s been a busy and productive week.  I am anxious to share a piece that I just completed. 

You may recall that I scored this baby for a steal.  It was in pretty bad shape, so restoring it was not part of the vision.

Before

It is a Lane Cedar Chest.

Cedar lined trunk

It has beautiful legs.

Showing off the legs

Let the makeover begin.

First off, I sanded the top completely.

Top - in bad shape

Sanded

I decided to stain the top in Dark Walnut.

Then, this baby received primer and paint.

Painted

I love the contrast of the top and the painted portion.

Almost done

Why stop there?

A little sanding on the edges.

Sanded and stained

Rather than using my regular glaze, I used the Dark Walnut stain to highlight the detail and imperfections she has.

Love the detail

Light stain

And here she is:

All done

The bottom part is a drawer.  I sprayed the original hardware, since it’s still wet, you will have to imagine them in place!

Complete

Thanks for indulging me as I pack this post with pictures!  What do you think?  Love to hear your thoughts!

Linking to one of my fav’s: http://missmustardseed.blogspot.com/

XO-

6 responses to “Piece de Resistance

Leave a Reply

