What to do?

Happy Monday!

I need some input from you guys.  I recently purchased a piece from Craigslist.  I anticipated refinishing it, but when I got it, it was in pretty good shape.  I cleaned it up with Old English and that worked on most of the scratches.  Unfortunately, it did not help the scratches on the top – the most visible.

The piece has a heavy finish, so sanding and trying to match the finish on the piece will not work.  So…

Do I sand the top and stain it a darker color (black?)

Do I paint the whole piece?

Do I put a runner on it and call it a day?

To help you understand my dilemma better, here are a few pics:

If you have been to my home, this piece replaced the black table in the entry way.

Scratches

Now in place (for the time being).

Apparently, the mirror needs to be cleaned better!

So tell me what to do!  I am stuck.

Thanks for your comments and help!

5 responses to “What to do?

  • Ra

    Hey Girlfriend-
    Try tea bags to diminish the scratches.
    Try the wood pens.
    Get a mirror cut to the dimensions of the table to place on top.
    If you do the mirror replace the hardware on the piece.

    Lovin your blog!

    xo Ra

  • Polly

    Hi Shannon! Looks like a great Craigs List find! Yay you! If it was me, I would paint it, but I want to paint everything, so I’m not sure I’m a good advice giver here!! Lol! I guess it just depends on the look you are going for….I can visualize it so many different ways!

    Whatever you decide, it is a really nice piece and has awesome storage functionality, so I’d say it’s a win-win!!

    Have a great week!

    Polly

    P.S. Do you have a “followers” link? I’d love to follow your blog!!

  • Jennifer Patterson

    I think it would look good just to put a runner on it and leave as is, unless the scratches really bother you. It is a wonderful piece and has alot of storage I would love to find a piece like that on craiglists. I never find anything worth having or either it is really expensive. I love you blog and I have really been thinking about starting a blog myself but when I look at all that the different bloggers do I feel I’m not quite up to the level of talent that each of you have. Thanks for your post and I can’t wait to see what you decide to do with your piece.

    Jenny

Leave a Reply

