Trash to Treasure

Hi All,

After a day at The Country Living Fair in late September, I was quite inspired to tackle some redo projects.  The same night I found a desk on Craigslist that for some reason I had to have.  A quick trip to a shady neighborhood, $25 later, I owned an ugly brown desk.

Before

I sanded it, then primed it all.  I removed the hardware and trashed it.

Primed & Painted

I used spray primer and then Heirloom White spray paint.  I gave it 2 good coats.  You can see a few other projects in the works (picture frame & chair).

I have read a lot about glazing but had never attempted it before.  At Home Depot I purchased a quart of Ralph Lauren Ebony Glaze.  Glaze is runny and goes on with a foam brush.  You do not need much at all! 

So over my freshly painted desk, I brushed on the glaze.  With a damp paper towel I wiped the glaze off.  This was the fastest part of the process, it takes no time at all!

Next, I ran to the Habitat for Humanity ReStore and picked up the new hardware for a $1 each!  That is a fabulous deal!  So here it is:

After

Shot of the hardware & the glazing:

New Hardware

In place

I am thrilled with the transformation!  I am also happy with the glazing technique and seem to be applying it to everything lately!

Thanks for reading & if you like it, leave a comment!

I am thrilled to link to:

grabttprimitive&proper

http://myuncommonsliceofsuburbia.blogspot.com/

http://missmustardseed.blogspot.com/

9 responses to “Trash to Treasure

Leave a Reply

