Mudroom Makeover

Happy November!  We spent this weekend at the cottage.  It was eery being on the lake with no docks in, no leaves on the trees and bundling up.  Yet, there was something very calming and peaceful – the water, the fire and a down comforter!  That was our last journey up there for 2010 and it was spent with good friends.

While I was under the covers, next to the fire, sipping tea, I addressed my Christmas cards.  Don’t be a hater.  This year I will be on the ball! 

So with the cottage closed up and cards mostly addressed (hope I do not lose them before I mail them), I am ready to get this house together!

We recently finished the laundry room/mudroom/dumping ground.  While the finishing touches are needed, here is the transformation:

Before Laundry Room

After a few hours, a lot of cutting – I did operate the compound miter saw, with much success I might add (and goggles), we have:

After - Laundry room

We have many hooks, and the space is still being dressed up.  I do love the finished wall and as always wonder why we didn’t do it years ago (time, money, time,energy).

I should mention, I used mdf, a chair rail trim, quarter round and caulk (lots of caulk) found at Home Depot.  The paint is the high gloss trim paint from our builder, which we stocked up on.  The total cost was under $100 and took a weekend.  As always, waiting for the paint to dry is the hardest longest part of the entire day!

The Dining Room is next on my attack list.

Leave a Reply

